First Vice-Chair: Laurie Slade Funderburk

Katherine E. "Katie" Arrington Gary E. Clary MaryGail K. Douglas Phyllis J. Henderson Joseph H. Jefferson Jr. Mandy Powers Norrell J. Todd Rutherford Tommy M. Stringer Bill Taylor

Jennifer L. Dobson Research Director

Cathy A. Greer Administration Coordinator Chairman Wm. Weston J. Newton

Legislative Oversight Committee



South Carolina House of Representatives

Post Office Box 11867

Columbia, South Carolina 29211

Telephone: (803) 212-6810 • Fax: (803) 212-6811

Room 228 Blatt Building

William K. (Bill) Bowers Neal Collins Raye Felder William M. "Bill" Hixon Robert L. Ridgeway III James E. Smith Jr. Edward R. Tallon Sr. Robert O. Williams

Charles L. Appleby IV Legal Counsel

Carmen J. McCutcheon Simon Research Analyst/Auditor

Law Enforcement and Criminal Justice Subcommittee Tuesday, February 21, 2017 9:00am Blatt Room 108

Archived Video Available

I. Pursuant to House Legislative Oversight Committee Rule 6.8, South Carolina ETV was allowed access for streaming the meeting. You may access an archived video of this meeting by visiting the South Carolina General Assembly's website (http://www.scstatehouse.gov) and clicking on *Committee Postings and Reports*, then under *House Standing Committees* click on *Legislative Oversight*. Then, click on *Video Archives* for a listing of archived videos for the Committee.

Attendance

I. The Law Enforcement and Criminal Justice Subcommittee meeting was called to order by Chairman Edward R. Tallon, Sr., on Tuesday, February 21, 2017, in Room 108 of the Blatt Building. The following members of the Subcommittee were present for either all or a portion of the meeting: Chairman Tallon, Representative Kathrine Arrington, Representative William M. Hixon, and Representative J. Todd Rutherford

Minutes

I. House Rule 4.5 requires standing committees to prepare and make available to the public the minutes of committee meetings, but the minutes do not

have to be verbatim accounts of meetings. It is the practice of the Legislative Oversight Committee to provide minutes for its subcommittee meetings.

II. Representative Hixon made a motion to approve the meeting minutes from the prior Subcommittee meeting.

Rep. Hixon's motion to approve the minutes from February 16, 2017:	Yea	Nay	Not Voting
Rep. Arrington	✓		
Rep. Hixon	✓		
Rep. Rutherford			NP
Rep. Tallon	✓		

Discussion of the Department of Public Safety

- I. Chairman Tallon swore in the following individuals from the Department of Public Safety (DPS):
 - a. Leroy Smith, Director
 - b. Col. Michael Oliver, Commander of SC Highway Patrol
 - c. Col. Leroy Taylor, Commander of the State Transport Police
 - d. Chief Zackary Wise, Commander of the Bureau of Protective Services
 - e. Chief Kenneth Phelps, Office of Professional Responsibility
 - f. Warren Ganjehsani, DPS General Counsel
 - g. Gene Matthews, Outside Counsel
 - h. Paul Lewis, Chief Financial Officer
 - i. Phil Riley, Office of Highway Safety/Justice Programs
 - j. Sherri Iacobelli, Communications
 - k. Sid Gaulden, Legislative Liaison
 - 1. Capt. Richard L. Ray, SCHP, Commander Telecommunications Unit
 - m. Capt. C. B. Hughes, SCHP, Commander Troop Ten
 - n. Capt. B.J. Albert, SCHP, Commander Troop Four
 - o. Dana Ray Budget Director
 - p. James Boland Manager of Financial Information Accounting
 - q. Daphne Shook Grants Accounting Supervisor
 - r. BJ Nelson Victim Services Program Manager
 - s. Bonnie Burns Criminal Justice/Juvenile Justice Program Manager
- II. Chairman Tallon swore in constituent Avril Wilson. Ms. Wilson provided testimony to the Subcommittee. Members asked questions, which Ms. Wilson answered.

Director Smith and Chief Phelps responded to Ms. Wilson's comments. Members asked questions, which Director Smith and Chief Phelps answered.

- III. Members asked questions about the materials DPS provides to families of traffic fatality victims. Director Smith, Mr. Phil Riley, and Mr. Gene Matthews responded to the questions.
- IV. Chairman Tallon asked additional questions related to DPS' Office of Professional Responsibility including the length of time in which investigations are open and notification provided to employees under investigation about the ongoing status of the investigation. Chief Phelps responded to the questions.
- V. The meeting was adjourned.